Barnstable High School

Varsity Football

Player Awards

Archives • Home Individual Award Winners (alphabetical)

1951 Football Banquet Award Winners included (from left): Caleb Fraser (Most Outstanding Player), Ray Hostetter (Jean G. Hinkle Memorial Athletic Award), and Jack Aylmer (Most Improved Player Award).
Jean G. Hinkle Memorial Athletic Award

The Jean G. Hinkle Memorial Athletic Award has been awarded to an individual Barnstable High School Red Raider football player each year since 1935. A successful businesswoman from Osterville, Ms. Hinkle was a longtime benefactor of Barnstable High School football and athletics who each fall would award her namesake trophy in person at the annual postseason football awards banquet. This award is deemed by many to be one of the highest honors bestowed upon a Red Raider football player. The trophy each year is to be awarded to the senior member of the football squad, who, during his high school course, has shown the finest school spirit, the most willing cooperation with coach and team, and the highest degree of sportsmanship both on and off the playing field.

Click here for Hinkle Award Recipients

Raymond E. Hostetter Jr. Football Award

Originally given each season to one oustanding BHS Red Raider football player by the Hyannis Athletic Association, the Raymond E. Hostetter Jr. Football Award is now given annually by the Barnstable Quarterback Club. The late Ray Hostetter is deemed by many BHS football fans to be one of the greatest running backs to ever wear the Red & White and helped lead the 1951 team to a 9-0 undefeated season and who went on to set several rushing records at the University of Maine. Ray's father, Ray Sr., was the founder of the original Barnstable Athletic Boosters in the late 1940s, forefather to the Barnstable Quarterback Club later founded in 1967. Raymond E. Hostetter, Jr. also served for one season as BHS Football Head Coach. This award is given each year to the player who best demonstrates a superior level of competitiveness and leadership.

Click here for Hostetter Award Recipients

BHS Football Raiders Club Award

Each season, a select player or group of players are recognized "for attaining a superior level of performance against their opponents during the football season."

Click here for Red Raider Club Award Recipients

Kevin A. Houston Memorial Thanksgiving Day Game Most Valuable Player Award

Each season, an individual player is selected as the Barnstable High School most valuable player of the Thanksgiving Day Game versus Falmouth, as selected by the McGoldrick Family.

Originally, this award was sponsored

by the Mid-Cape Junior Chamber of Commerce and was awarded to both an offensive and defensive player at the award's inception in 1959. This award was formerly known as the William F. McGoldrick Memorial Thanksgiving Day Game MVP Award.

Click here for Thanksgiving Day Game MVPs

Ronald Hosie Sportsmanship Award

Awarded annually to an individual player who best exemplifies the spirit and demeanor of good sportsmanship on and off the BHS gridiron.

Click here for Hosie Award Recipients

Joseph Borsari Award

Each year, this award is given to the Red Raider football player who best exemplifies the level of dedication it requires to wear the Red & White.

Click here for Award Recipients

Red Raiders Coaches' Award

This award is given annually to the "Unsung Hero" of the Red Raider varsity team.

Click here for Award Recipients

Heart & Drive Offensive Lineman of the Year

This award is given annually to the Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman.

Click here for Award Recipients

© S. Walsh, All Rights Reserved
Home Archives

Photo Courtesy of Jack Aylmer